Axedale Golf Club results

July 20, 2017

The stableford event was keenly contested at Axedale Golf Club last week.

A TOTAL of 58 men took part in a stableford event at the Axedale Golf Club on Thursday, July 13. The event was sponsored by Martlec Electrical Services.

Division one (0-15)

In division one, the winner was Garry Harrop (12 h/c, 36 points). Runner-up was Roger Heider (6 h/c, 35 points) on a countback from David Ivey (12 h/c, 35 points) also on a countback.

Division two (16-22)

In division two the winner was Peter Richardson (17 h/c, 40 points). The runner-up was Kevin Crawford (19 h/c, 37 points), while third place was decided on a countback and went to Mick Purdon (20 h/c, 36 points).

Division three (23-36)

In division three the winner was Brian Keating (24 h/c, 39 points). The runner-up was Gary Piggott (26 h/c, 36 points). Third place was awarded to Alan Clements (23 h/c, 34 points).

Ball winners:

Ian Viney 36, Gary Beames 35, Peter Toperoso 34; and Joe Fiske Kealy 34, Peter Hoskin 34 and Rod Threlfall 34 on a countback.

Nearest the pins:

1st hole division one: Roger Heider; division two: Gary Piggott.

2nd shot, 3rd hole division one: Gary Beames; division two: Phil Luke.

6th hole open: Rod Connelly.

18th hole division one: Dennis Higgins; division two: Brian Keating.

Longest drive: Peter Toperoso.

Encouragement award: Division one: Sam Bilardi; Division two: Peter Thomas; Division three: Brian Fry

Birdie Ball:

Roger Heider on the 18th.

On Saturday July 15, a Mixed Canadian Foursome Championship and a Men’s Stableford were held at the Axedale Golf Club, with thanks to sponsorship provided by Drummond Golf.

Men’s Stableford:

In division one the winner was Travis Fitzpatrick (10 h/c, 38 nett). The runner-up was Roger Heider (7 h/c, 37 nett). Third place went to Glenn Laity (10 h/c, 36 nett).

In division two the winner was Geoff Williams (19 h/c, 39 nett). John Richardson was runner-up on a countback (15 h/c, 35 nett) from Sebastian Lanteri (17 h/c, 35 nett) also on a countback.

In division three the winner was Paul OSullivan (25 h/c, 41 nett). The runner-up was Vik Labaliauskas (30 h/c, 34 nett), while Kerry Moore secured third place on a countback (30 h/c, 33 nett).

Ball winners: Steve Lee 35, John Miller 35; Garry Beames 34, Geoff Kerr 34; Tony Strybosch 34 and Graham Conner 34 on a countback.

Nearest the pins:

1st hole division one: Andrew Martin; division two: Rosemary Winter.

3rd hole, 2nd shot division one: Seldon Carter; division two: Eric Rogers.

6th hole open: Leigh Graham.

16th hole Superpin entries Roger Heider.

18th hole division one: Peter Elvey; division two: Paul OSullivan.

Mixed Canadian Foursome Championship:

The gross winners of the Mixed Canadian Foursome Championship were Ruth Iser (12 h/c) and Fred Kath (10 h/c) who scored 82.

The nett winners were Raye Fleay (18 h/c) and Daryl Fleay (17 h/c) who finished on a score of 85 gross and 73.875 nett.

The runners-up in the nett competition were Sue Minne (26 h/c) and Robin Minne (15 h/c), who scored 89 gross and 73.625 nett.

Other Highlights:

Sebastian Lanteri scored a birdie on the 6th.

More in News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text